No poetry tonight: R Tendo Tapiwa ©2014

My sweetheart,
Tonight I write you no poetry,
I do not feel like swaying between
words-
Leaping from page to mind and
racing thru the body
Tonight, my dear,
I write you a story
A story much like my own.
Understand that I tend to immerse
parts of me in my writing
So I’ll place bits of me in the work I
create tonight
Expect nothing fantastic
It’s just simple
I’ve lived too many complications
And I’ve loved too many
complications
So I write this story
To show you that I want simplicity:
Simple dates, simple books, simple
stories, simple love
No complications.
No expectations beyond tonight.
I want your attention when I read
the story.
It IS written for you, after all.

Care to share?

