The ugly face of violence: When the leopard eats its own

#RatedLoose

#NdiMaMoyoAdaro

Having read what Doctor Alex Magaisa (he is a bona fide academic this one, I must add… ) wrote on his Facebook wall about the two types of political violence found in this country, I find myself wondering what is happening to all those who have been linked to political violence around the country. I was a part of the cast of the play, Rituals, that toured the country in 2010 and came face to face with a fraction of the deep impact that political violence had on the nation. In many places, the leaders of the perpetrators of violence lived among the communities and were well known to everyone and they roamed freely. I came across names whose mention brings shivers up and down my spine when I recall the atrocious deeds to which they are linked. At times, I find it hard to close my eyes because images of people near tears, retelling us their stories flash before my eyes. Often times, I hear the emotions choked up in voices of survivors of this violence. Whenever I see an abandoned homestead as I travel around this nation, half the time I think that this was probably the home of a family that was forced to leave because they were deemed traitors and thus had to flee for their lives. These are not easy moments because I am but just someone in whom they confided their painful stories because of the play that I found myself being a cast member.

It is such an overwhelming project that was supported by many but was also persecuted by others. I recall that we slept in cells twice and became history makers simply because someone deemed the play ploitical and viewed it as having taken a swipe at certain people and political parties despite not one mention of any political party thru the entire play. But, in Shona there is a saying that goes “Anyumwa bere nderake” (which loosely translated means He that is guilty is quick to assume that he is being accused of a crime..something like that)

Anyway, I am now wondering about all those characters who led violence against their neighbours…who raped and impregnated young women in the name of politics…those who petrol bombed homes of their neighbours…who led young men and women in bases of torture…What is going to happen to them? Will they also face the same fate as Jim Kunaka? Whilst Jim was reportedly abducted, he was once feared so won’t this unleash a wave of violence against those who were once feared as instigators of political violence because “Jim has been made an example”? I am seriously worried…what has become of our nation?

We need peace and not this demonstrations and vile talk that is going on because at the end of the day, no one is actually going to harm any of these big chefs but their perceived supporters…it is only you and I who will come off worse if we allow this to continue. It has got to come to a stop and I do not see any of our leaders doing ANYTHING to bring an end to this. If they would do anything, the violence of 2008 would have seen people brought to book for it…but another election later and beyond it, it takes “factionalism” to begin to bring “punishment”??? Really!! Zimbabweans, we need to realise that in all this, our leadership is so caught up in staying in power that they are willing to sacrifice us in their fights! None of them will sacrifice themselves That is the plain truth.If it wasn’t, the very government of today would be some respectable someones working away at farms somewhere and not still walking the corridors of power and turning everything that is state into party and personal entities.

One thought on “The ugly face of violence: When the leopard eats its own

  1. What happened to the spirit of sacrifice, for how long shall we watch while they destroy our country? Its our Country too, its actually ours, and no longers theirs, we just now need to take from the, the question is how?

    Like

Care to share?

